Suburban Jungle


The First Sleepover

Jake had a sleep over last night with his best friend. I am always scared something extreme will happen. I am one of those highly obsessive unlogical thinkers that jumps right to the nth degree. For instance, at his first sleep over with this very same friend I was convinced he was going to get smothered by him. I know that Jake passes out and his friend will be up bored and wanting to play.

He could do something obvious, like draw a moustache with permanent marker, he could put his hand in a cup of warm water, but no, I go straight to smothering. Now this child we’ll call him Ben, (cause that’s his name) has no criminal record and has never smothered anyone, that I know of. But, I could not sleep. Instead of celebrating with a raucous romp, I was up every hour wondering how many pillows are in Ben’s room.

When Jake came back breathing I was thrilled and our day was normal. We went for a swim and Jake stripped down, wrapped a towel around himself and grabbed his junk as he so often does. Nothing out of the ordinary. Well I guess holding his stuff reminded him of the repercussions of the sleepover.

Jake: “Mom do you know what balls are?”

Me: “Sure you have tons of balls, baseballs, tennis balls…”

Jake: “Nope. (drop towel lift penis and squeeze sac) these are balls. See one two, see cause they’re like balls.”

Ryan: “Like the balls on my tongue”
(May that be the only context in which she utters those words to me again.)

Jake: “No Ryan these are balls, see ball, line, ball (squeezing and pointing so Ryan can get a good look) Mommy is talking about my balls and you’re talking about tongues.”

Me: “No, Mommy isn’t talking about your balls, Mommy is just listening.”

Jake: “Mommy, do you know what nuts are?”

I’ll take this over smothering every time. Thanks Ben.


14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hahahahahahaha.

oh, I can’t wait until my son starts telling me stories 😉

Comment by Ruby

OMG!! LMAO 🙂 Thank G-D I only have girls! 🙂 hehe

Comment by Heather

That was really funny, honey. Ballsy post…

Comment by mark

I’m so happy I’m having a girl! LOL

Comment by Jill

Only you would make a cringing moment laughable!

Comment by Candice

you’re welcome jenny–next sleepover’s topics will include: wet willies, purple nurples, and dutch ovens!
xoxo
ben

Comment by ben

It’s good to have friends who are willing and able to teach you things! I need to remember that Ben (and Jake) should be supervised around Sydney… loved it!!!! PS- I’m sure Syd would have some fun facts to share with Jake too!

Comment by Cristie

Brian and I both enjoyed this one—–and how cute and innocent is Ryan????!!!!!

Comment by pam

Totally hilarious. I laughed out loud when I read, “May that be the only context in which she utters those words to me again.”

Comment by Jen

That sounds like a day in my house! Balls, farts, poop etc are daily topics in my house. My boys laugh about this stuff – it doesn’t help that the biggest boy of all (my hubby) eggs them on. I swear that he’s worse than they are.

Comment by Jenn

Featured on Good Mom/Bad Mom on the Houston Chronicle: http://tinyurl.com/5p8q7b

Comment by Jenny, Bloggess

Oh my gosh! Too hilarious! Saw you on Good Mom/Bad Mom! Did he also learn “wood, stiffy, plank, etc.?” Let’s hope not.

Comment by iPost

Sounds like Ben is a real Gem!

Comment by Mrs. F

This is hilarious! My son is always asking questions, I give him quick 123 answers and then always quickly follow up with “What do you want for dinner?”

Comment by Jamie Dougherty




Leave a comment